Movable Feasts-Paschal Cycle

The Feast of the Resurrection of Jesus, called Pascha (Easter), is the greatest of all holy days and as such it is called the “feast of feasts”.  During the Liturgical Year there are eight additional great feasts in honour of our Lord and four great feasts in honour of His Mother.   While Church tradition emphasizes the importance of these feast days, there are 6 obligatory holy days in addition to Sundays.    These are:
Nativity of Our Lord - Christmas Day  - December 25
Theophany of Our Lord -  January 6
Annunciation - March 25
Ascension of Our Lord - 40 days after Pascha (Easter)
Feast of Saints Peter and Paul - June 29
Dormition of the Mother of God - August 15

* Signifies a Holy Day of Obligation beyond Sundays

The Great Feasts are designated in bold.